2020 World Darts Championship line-up nears completion

  • Posted on
  • Posted in NEWS

Defending champion Michael van Gerwen will lead the 96-player field at the 2020 PDC World Championship, with just a couple of qualification spots remaining.
The 32 agents for the next month’s showpiece in Alexandra Palace were confirmed during this weekend Players Championship Finals, with just a couple more spots available ahead of Monday’s attraction, which will be broadcast live on Sky Sports News at 7:30pm.
Van Gerwen is bidding to keep his crown and raise a fourth World Championship title on New Year’s Day at 2020, with beaten Michael Smith in a year’s tournament.
The Dutchman will be the best seed using 2018 world champion Rob Cross and Grand Slam winner Gerwyn Price seeded third and second respectively.
Last year’s finalist Smith is fourth, with two-time champion Gary Anderson fifth as he bids to come back to form.
The ten seeds include former UK Open champion Peter Wright two-time big winner Daryl Gurney , winner James Wade and the duo of Dave Chisnall and Ian White – who have maintained this term to countless Pro Tour titles.
Three-time BDO world champion Glen Durrant will be seeded on his Ally Pally bow, having increased to 27th by virtue of attaining major televised semi-finals.
Raymond van Barneveld is one of the 32 Pro Tour Order of Merit qualifiers, as the world winner competes in his final event before retirement.
Van Barneveld revealed signs of a resurgence having a run into the final eight and he’ll be expecting to sign off a sensational career in style in the funding.
While the 32 seeds will enter the tournament in round 2, Barney will be made to compete in the opening round after relinquishing his spot at the planet’s best 32 earlier this year.
Jamie Hughes directs the listing of Pro Tour qualifiers which includes two-time Professional Tour winner Jose De Sousa along with Kim Huybrechts, former Premier League stars Jelle Klaasen, World Cup finalist William O’Connor and former UK Open runner-up Vincent van der Voort.
Twenty-eight of those 32 International qualifiers are also finalised, with four areas up for grabs at Wigan’s Robin Park Tennis Centre on Monday.
If Luke Humphries defeats youngster Adam Gawlas from the World Youth Championship Final on Sunday with Humphries already assured of eligibility via the Master course There’ll be three places available.
There’s also 1 spot up for grabs in the UK and Ireland Women’s qualifier bidding to qualify for the 2nd year.
Women’s world champion Mikuru Suzuki progressed in the Rest of the World Women’s qualifier and headlines that the International qualifiers along with South African celebrity Devon Petersen, World Series winner Damon Heta and the Paul Lim.
Leading 32 Seeds: Michael van Gerwen (1), Rob Cross (two ), Gerwyn Price (3), Michael Smith (4), Gary Anderson (5), Daryl Gurney (6), Peter Wright (7), James Wade (8 ) ), Ian White (9), Dave Chisnall (10), Mensur Suljovic (11), Nathan Aspinall (12), Adrian Lewis (13), Simon Whitlock (14), Joe Cullen (15), Jonny Clayton (16), Jermaine Wattimena (17), Stephen Bunting (18), Darren Webster (19), Krzysztof Ratajski (20), Mervyn King (21), Chris Dobey (22), Jeffrey p Zwaan (23), Max Hopp (24), Steve Beaton (25), Keegan Brown (26), Glen Durrant (27), Dimitri Van den Bergh (28), John Henderson (29), Steve West (30), Danny Noppert (31), Ricky Evans (32).
32 Pro Tour Qualifiers: Jamie Hughes, Jos?? de Sousa, Vincent van der Voort, Brendan Dolan, Gabriel Clemens, Justin Pipe, William O’Connor, Ron Meulenkamp, Harry Ward, Ross Smith, Kyle Anderson, Kim Huybrechts, Ted Evetts, Andy Boulton, Ryan Joyce, Raymond van Barneveld, Luke Humphries, Darius Labanauskas, Ryan Searle, Arron Monk, Ritchie Edhouse, Mark McGeeney, Josh Payne, Cristo Reyes, James Richardson, Jelle Klaasen, James Wilson, Luke Woodhouse, Steve Lennon, Rowby-John Rodriguez, Ryan Meikle, Mickey Mansell.
International Qualifiers: Seigo Asada, Danny Baggish, Keane Barry, Matt Campbell, Jan Dekker, Damon Heta, Lourence Ilagan, Jose Justicia, Marko Kantele, Robbie King, Boris Koltsov, Nitin Kumar, Nico Kurz, Zoran Lerchbacher, Paul Lim, Noel Malicdem, Geert Nentjes, Devon Petersen, Diogo Portela, Benjamin Pratnemer, Madars Razma, Ben Robb, Callan Rydz, Mikuru Suzuki, Ciaran Teehan, Yuki Yamada, Darin Young, Xiaochen Zong.
Take a look at Darts news on .com/darts, our program for also our Twitter account @darts and cellular devices – the activity is back on your own Sky Sports screens in December together with all the World Championship in Alexandra Palace. Everything gets underway Friday, December 13.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *.

You may use these <abbr title="HyperText Markup Language">HTML</abbr> tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>

Theme BCF By aThemeArt - Proudly powered by WordPress .