Chris Froome loses time as Caleb Ewan extends lead in UAE Tour

  • Posted on
  • Posted in NEWS

The Caleb Ewan of australia extended his lead in point two of their UAE Tour – but the Chris Froome of Britain missed time.
The four-time Tour de France winner was dropped from the peloton in the 8km and crawled in 111th – three minutes and 46 seconds off the pace.
Ewan won the 167km period after edging the Sam Bennett in a sprint to the very top of Hatta Dam of Bora Hansgrohe.
French Groupama-FDJ rider Arnaud Demare came third to put third overall at the classification.
Britain’s Adam Yates completed the stage while Mark Cavendish was 124th, seven minutes and 5 minutes behind.
Ewan, who rides for Belgian team Lotto Soudal, stated:”I had been satisfied with that win – it is a very difficult finish and we thought today would be more difficult than last year.
“The profile appeared hard and since there wasn’t any end it was straightforward. My team did a wonderful job to drop me off at that final corner.”
Tuesday’s phase three is 184km out of Al Qudra Cycle Track near Dubai into Jebel Hafeet in Al Ain. The race finishes on 29.
1. Caleb Ewan (Aus/Lotto-Soudal) 4hrs 18mins 16 secs
2. Sam Bennett (Ire/Bora Hansgrohe) +2 secs
3. Arnaud Demare (Fra/Groupama-FDJ) +4 secs
4. Diego Ulissi (Ita/UAE Team Emirates) same time
5. Rick Zabel (Ger/Israel Start-Up Natio) identical time
6. Andrea Vendrame (Ita/AG2R La Mondiale) same time
7. Luka Mezgec (Slo/Mitchelton Scott) identical time
8. Adam Yates (GB/Mitchelton Scott) identical time
9. Tadej Pogacar (Slo/UAE Team Emirates) same time
10. David Gaudu (Fra/Groupama – FDJ) identical time
1. Caleb Ewan (Aus/Lotto Soudal) 7hrs 47mins 19secs
2. Sam Bennett (Irl/Deceuninck-Quick-Step) +12 secs
3. Arnaud D??mare (Fra/Groupama-FDJ) +16 secs
4. Nikolay Cherkasov (Rus/Gazprom-RusVelo) +17 secs
5. Alexey Lutsenko (Kaz/Astana Guru Team) +19 secs
6. Luka Mezgec (Slo/Mitchelton-Scott) +20 secs
7. Andrea Vendrame (Ita/AG2R La Mondiale) same time
8. Rick Zabel (Ger/Israel Start-Up Nation) same time
9. Wilco Kelderman (Ned/Team Sunweb) same time
10. David Gaudu (Fra/Groupama – FDJ) identical time

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *.

You may use these <abbr title="HyperText Markup Language">HTML</abbr> tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>

Theme BCF By aThemeArt - Proudly powered by WordPress .