Gerwyn Price picks up first title of 2020 beating Michael van Gerwen

  • Posted on
  • Posted in NEWS

Gerwyn Price claimed his first title of the season with a defeat of Michael van Gerwen at the final of??Players Championship 6 at Wigan.
Having lost out in the final of Players Championship 5 Saturday to Peter Wright by a mean of 109, Price found the bullseye to get a 94 voucher at the leg to property his PDC name.
With both players seeking a maiden title of 2020 Price started the stronger from the all-Premier League.
Van Gerwen, who struck on a nine-darter in his triumph over Krzysztof Ratajski, fought back to trail 5-4 but was unable to find the outcome as Price went 7-4 ahead.
2 11 dart legs both sides of a 15-darter saw Van Gerwen have an enthralling competition all the way into a leg, and together with the Dutchman awaiting 36 for the game, Price took out 94 to assert a second ever win on the entire world one.
“Moving into the picking leg, with Michael casting first, it seemed like the game has been gone,” admitted Price, who became the first winner from six Players Championship events up to now in 2020.
“I just wanted to be sure I gave me a shot to the match and also I made sure that I took it.
“I truly believe now that when I hit my doubles, I’ll win games from Michael, Peter [Wright] or people; my scoring game is up there, even if not better than them.
“When you return to if I began, I threw the towel in and lost games like that but I stuck out there now.
“I have played with five events this year and I have got to 3 finals so I’m doing alright so far from 2020.”
Van Gerwen, meanwhile, will enter without a PDC title for the first time because 2011, having dropped out to Ryan Searle in Players Championship Three’s final.
Sunday February 23
Last 16 Michael van Gerwen 6-5 Cristo Reyes James Wade 6-2 Ricky Evans Peter Wright 6-3 Adrian Lewis Krzysztof Ratajski 6-4 Devon Petersen Ian White 6-3 Jermaine Wattimena Stephen Bunting 6-2 Simon Whitlock Gerwyn Price 6-4 Jamie Hughes Steve Beaton 6-3 Daryl Gurney
Quarter-Finals Michael van Gerwen 6-2 James Wade Krzysztof Ratajski 6-2 Peter Wright Stephen Bunting 6-4 Ian White Gerwyn Price 6-4 Steve Beaton
Semi-Finals Michael van Gerwen 7-6 Krzysztof Ratajski Gerwyn Price 7-3 Stephen Bunting
Closing Gerwyn Price 8-7 Michael van Gerwen
Take a look at daily Darts news on .com/ / darts.
Coverage of this Premier League continues on Thursday, February 27 at Dublin at 7pm on Sky Sports Main Event & Sky Sports Action with William O’Connor up against Michael van Gerwen. Don’t forget, the coverage continues through before the Play-Offs in London on May 21.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *.

You may use these <abbr title="HyperText Markup Language">HTML</abbr> tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>

Theme BCF By aThemeArt - Proudly powered by WordPress .