Premiership: Northampton Saints 36-13 Leicester Tigers

  • Posted on
  • Posted in NEWS

Since they ran to beat at Leicester, northampton emphatically took the East Midlands derby bragging rights.
Scores by Fraser Dingwall, Tom Collins and Api Ratuniyarawa followed up matt Proctor’s early brace on his own debut at a free-flowing screen.
Guy Thompson had swept in the opening quarter to give the lead prior to Saints took control to Leicester.
A fourth victory in five matches moves Northampton shirt .
It had looked like being a excruciating buildup for Saints, who dropped Dan Biggar international trio Courtney Lawes and Owen Franks in their first when each three failed fitness evaluations.
However, they showed no consequences of playing that Test experience when one-time All Black middle Proctor was set by Cobus Reinach’s eyesight from the bottom of a scrum.
Leicester replied promisingly when Thompson had the capability to crash from an attacking line-out. But that was as good as it made for Tigers, who are second from bottom with just one win in five season.
As Proctor crossed once more in the end of a good flowing movement from right to left saints began to control , and then Fiji lock Ratuniyarawa, that came in for the injured Lawes, went before half-time.
Winger Collins had a present of a score before replacement center Dingwall was shipped over with his first touch after Northampton pounced on an overthrown Leicester 39,, to fasten the try bonus point midway through the second half.
In addition to a fourth house Premiership win in a row for Saints, it was a fourth successive win in all competitions from their rivals, something they achieved in 1973.
Northampton Saints: Furbank; Collins, Proctor, Hutchinson, Naiyaravoro; Grayson, Reinach; Waller (co-capt), Haywood, Painter, Moon, Ratuniyarawa, Wood, Ludlam, Harrison (co-capt).
Replacements: Van Vuuren, Van Wyk, Hill, Coles Mitchell, Dingwall, Tuala.
Sin-bin: Moon (50).
Leicester Tigers: Worth; May, Tuilagi, Taute, Holmes; Ford, B Youngs; Genge, T Youngs (capt), Cole, Lavanini, Green, Wells, Thompson, Kalamafoni.
Replacements: Kerr Leatigaga, Lewis, Coghlan, White, Reid, Forsyth.
Referee: Matthew Carley (RFU).

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *.

You may use these <abbr title="HyperText Markup Language">HTML</abbr> tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>

Theme BCF By aThemeArt - Proudly powered by WordPress .