Wales 43-33 Barbarians: Wayne Pivac begins Wales tenure with Barbarians win

  • Posted on
  • Posted in NEWS

New coach Wayne Pivac began his tenure with success within predecessor Warren Gatland as Wales overpowered the Barbarians within an 11-try experience.
Strive drops from wing Josh Adams along with hooker Ken Owens were steered by a score making his first Wales beginning in this fixture.
Replacement scrum-half Gareth Davies also spanned, while full-back Leigh Halfpenny kicked 13 points.
Curwin Bosch josh Strauss, Shaun Stevenson, Craig Millar and Pete Samu scored the Barbarians tries.
The pre-match talk had comprised debate over if the Wales design would be evolved by Pivac.
And there were encouraging attacking signs before the Six Nations opener February.
Though will provide Wales defence coaching duo Byron Sam along with Hayward Warburton lots to contemplate going into the new 24, shipping five tries.
Since Pivac took charge of the first game and fellow New Zealander Gatland bade farewell to the Cardiff audience after his stint, it was the end of one era and the start of the following in Welsh rugby.
Throughout the time in charge of Gatland, Wales won four Six Nations names – including three Grand Slams – and also attained 2 World Cup semi-finals.
Pivas side comprised flanker Justin Tipuric captaining the group in the lack of regular skipper Alun Wyn Jones.
There were nine changes from the team that lost to New Zealand at the World Cup match.
The inclusion was Zealand-born Scarlets wing McNicholl, who qualified through this month after spending a long time along with his region.
Pivac also picked Cardiff Blues fly-half Jarrod Evans after he missed out on World Cup selection.
Captain Rory Best led the Barbarians staff prior to retirementwhile former France centre Mathieu Bastareaud lined up in midfield.
It was fitting World Cup top try scorer Adams scored the opening try from fly-half Evans after great work. Halfpenny converted from the touchline.
Tipuric had an effort ruled out following Aaron Wainwright was deemed in the Tomos Williams kick.
The Barbarians retaliated from Scotland with an attempt from range number eight Strauss which Bosch converted.
There was lots of needle within this fixture, using an incident flaring up.
Opposite wing McNicholl celebrated his first Wales start after another Evans pass, though the conversion of Halfpenny hit the post using a very simple try.
The remarkable Tipuric ripped the ball from the Barbarians which put up in a Welsh assault and led to a yellow card to South African flanker Marco van Staden.
The Barbarians’ line-out inaccuracy allowed Owens to dive around for Wales’ third attempt just before half-time, together with the conversion giving a 19-7 period lead to the hosts of Halfpenny.
Together with Halfpenny again adding the extra two points evans continued to pull the strings at the start of the next half along with a move led to a second try for Owens.
The Best that was retiring left the area for one final time for a huge ovation prior to the Barbarians responded with a try.
The Barbarians’ try, to Chiefs full-back Stevenson, was allowed despite a challenge by Dillyn Leyds on Halfpenny from the accumulation.
A raft of replacements, and which comprised Aaron Shingler had disrupted wales.
The home side recovered for speed with replacement scrum-half Davies beating Australian flanker Samu with a try.
The Barbarians promptly responded as they took advantage of Wales’ lethargy at collecting restarts with Sunwolves prop Millar benefitting.
The Barbarians resurrection lasted when Samu strolled around to decrease the deficit to seven points.
With three minutes Tipuric chose to ask Halfpenny to kick against the initial penalty of the afternoon to cement the success.
The roar of this day was then booked for Gatland as Wales fans said farewell to their mentor when he looked on the big screen.
The game was the action of an with Wales women losing 29-15 in the Principality Stadium earlier on Saturday into the Barbarians.
Wales: Leigh Halfpenny (Scarlets); Johnny McNicholl (Scarlets), Owen Watkin (Ospreys), Hadleigh Parkes (Scarlets), Josh Adams (Cardiff Blues); Jarrod Evans (Cardiff Blues), Tomas Williams (Cardiff Blues); Wyn Jones (Scarlets), Ken Owens (Scarlets), Dillon Lewis (Cardiff Blues), Jake Ball (Scarlets), Adam Beard (Ospreys), Aaron Shingler (Scarlets), Justin Tipuric (capt, Ospreys), Aaron Wainwright (Dragons).
Replacements: Elliot Dee (Dragons), Rob Evans (Scarlets), Leon Brown (Dragons), Seb Davies (Cardiff Blues), Ollie Griffiths (Dragons), Gareth Davies (Scarlets), Sam Davies (Dragons), Owen Lane (Cardiff Blues).
Barbarians: Shaun Stevenson (Waikoto Chiefs & Maori All Blacks); Dillyn Leyds (Stormers & South Africa), Mathieu Bastareaud (Lyon & France), Andre Esterhuizen (Natal Sharks & South Africa), Cornal Hendricks (Blue Bulls & South Africa); Curwin Bosch (Natal Sharks & South Africa), Bryn Hall (Crusaders & Maori All Blacks); Campese Maafu (Leicester Tigers & Fiji), Rory Best (capt, Ulster & Ireland), Wiehahn Herbst (Blue Bulls), Luke Jones (Melbourne Rebels & Australia), Tyler Ardron (Waikoto Chiefs & Canada), Pete Samu (ACT Brumbies & Australia), Marco van Staden (Blue Bulls & South Africa), Josh Strauss (Stade Francais & Scotland).
Replacements: Schalk Brits (Blue Bulls & South Africa), Craig Millar (Sunwolves), Hencus van Wyk (Sunwolves), George Biagi (Zebre & Italy), Angus Cottrell (Melbourne Rebels), Jano Vermaak (Stormers & South Africa), Billy Meakes (Melbourne Rebels), Matt Duffie (Auckland Blues & New Zealand).
Referee: Nigel Owens (WRU), Assistants: Dan Jones, Gwyn Morris (both WRU), TMO: Ian Davies (WRU).

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *.

You may use these <abbr title="HyperText Markup Language">HTML</abbr> tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>

Theme BCF By aThemeArt - Proudly powered by WordPress .